• Wednesday, 12 May 2021

SAARC Charter Day observed

Published Date : December 8, 2020

KATHMANDU, Dec 08: The Member States of the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) observed the 36th Charter Day of SAARC on Tuesday.

SAARC comprises Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka as members. Its Secretariat is based in Kathmandu, Nepal.

The Heads of State or Government of South Asia founded SAARC at the First SAARC Summit in Dhaka, Bangladesh, by adopting its Charter on 08 December 1985. Since then, 08 December every year is commemorated as the SAARC Charter Day.

As enshrined in its Charter, the primary objective of SAARC is to promote the welfare of the peoples and to improve their quality of life through accelerated social progress and economic development in the region.

A forum of eight countries in South Asia that are bound by ties of history and culture, SAARC is a tangible manifestation of the determination of its Member States to promote peace, stability, amity and progress in the region through strict adherence to the principles of sovereign equality, territorial integrity, national independence, non-use of force and non-interference in the internal affairs of other States and peaceful settlement of disputes.

The Heads of State or Government and/or Foreign Ministers of the Member States issued special messages to commemorate the Thirty-sixth SAARC Charter Day, according to a statement issued today by the SAARC Secretariat.

Facebook Comments