• Monday, 17 June 2024

Chand elected CAN chair, Binayraj Pandey defeated

Published Date : September 28, 2019
Newly elected President of Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) Chatur Bahadur Chand (second from right).

Kathmandu, Sept 28: Chatur Bahadur Chand has been elected the chair of Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN).

He defeated his contender Binayaraj Pandey, former chair of the CAN, to get elected to the post.

In the election held at Kathmandu on Saturday, Chand obtained 44 votes while his rival Pandey got 15.

Likewise, candidates from Chand group have won all the posts including vice-chair, secretary, treasurer and central members.

Other elected office-bearers are Rajbabu Shrestha (vice-chair), Ashoknath Pyakurel (secretary) and Roshan Singh (treasurer). Shrestha received 41 votes against 17 of his contender Mingma Dandu Sherpa in the post of vice-chair.

Pyakurel received 43 votes against 15 of Binod Nepal in the race of secretary.

Singh obtained 45 while his contender Upendra Bhattarai got 12 in the post of treasurer.

Facebook Comments