• Friday, 14 May 2021

UML and JSP form task force for possible power sharing

Published Date : March 9, 2021

KATHMANDU: The ruling CPN-UML has joined hands with another opposition party, the Janata Samajwadi Party (JSP), as the government needs a majority.

The UML and the JSP have formed separate task force to find possible power sharing in the days ahead. The UCPN (Maoist Center) has indicated to withdraw support given to the incumbent government.

Deputy General Secretary and Finance Minister Bishnu Poudel, Parliamentary Party Deputy Leader Subash Nemwang and Foreign Affairs Advisor to the Prime Minister Dr Rajan Bhattarai are in the task force from CPN (UML) while Sarvendra Nath Shukla and Laxman Lal Karna are from JSP.

At present, the CPN-UML has 121 seats in the House of Representatives while the JSP has 34 seats out of which two are suspended. A majority government would require 138 seats.

However, the JSP leaders Dr Baburam Bhattarai and Upendra Yadav were sidelined while forming the task force. It indicates that the JSP may split.

Facebook Comments