• Tuesday, 11 May 2021

Four MPs’ from CPN (Maoist Centre) fall vacant

Published Date : April 10, 2021
UCPN (Maoist Center) leaders including Chairman Puspa Kamal Dahal Prachanda. (file photo)

KATHMANDU: The posts of four Members of Parliament (MP) representing the CPN (Maoist Centre) in the House of Representatives have fallen vacant.

Speaker Agni Prasad Sapkota informed the meeting of the House of Representatives that the four posts have fallen vacant as the CPN (Maoist Centre) has filed an application at the Federal Parliament Secretariat stating that Top Bahadur Rayamajhi, Lekhraj Bhatta, Prabhu Sah and Gauri Shankar Chaudhary, who represented the party in the House and who are also ministers in the present government, have quit the party.

The CPN (Maoist Centre) also stated that the four MPs have been expelled from the party as they are engaged in the political activities of another party and also taken its central committee membership.

The MPs have openly stated that they will stay with KP Oli-led NCP (UML), however they were elected from the CPN (Maoist Centre) ticket.

The announcement of the posts falling vacant has been made in accordance with Clause 34 (1) of the Act on Political Parties, 2073 BS. According to the laws, the post of MPs may fall vacant if the party finds their MPs join other party or their actions look suspicious.

However, the MPs may form another party or join with other party if they get 40 percent seats at the Parliamentary Party.


Facebook Comments