• Thursday, 25 July 2024

Charging stations for EVs should be commissioned by NEA

Published Date : August 29, 2019

            Kathmandu, Aug 29: The committee formed to conduct the study on the procedure for building charging stations for the electronic vehicles (EVs) has suggested that the National Electricity Authority (NEA) should be tasked for monitoring and managing the charging stations across the country. 

            The Committee formed by Minister for Energy, Water Resources and Irrigation Barshaman Pun on February 25 this year submitted its report to Minister Pun on Wednesday. The Committee also recommended preparing and implementing procedures for monitoring and management of the charging stations.

            The Committee coordinated by Secretary at the Ministry of Energy, Water Resources and Irrigation Pravinraj Aryal included Ministry’s Joint-Secretary Toyanath Adhikari, Electricity Development Department’s Deputy Director General Sandeep Kumar Dev, NEA Deputy Executive Director Harraj Neupane and Ministry’s senior division engineer Raju Maharjan. 

            Furthermore, the Committee has suggested incorporating issues as provision for providing charging services, approval for charging stations, quality and criteria, security deposit, service charge, test and examination of the charging stations, reform of the electricity supply system and taxes among others in the producer to be made.

Facebook Comments